LibGuides: Open Access Resources: OA Ebooks & OER

OA Ebooks

NCBI / National Library of Medicine NLM) Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
Taylor & Francis - Open Access Ebooks
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books are published across all subject areas, though their strengths are in Society & Social Sciences and Humanities.They have also built collections in subject specific areas and collections for universities and funders who have a large amount of book content to open access.
Springer - Open Access Ebooks
They offer authors the option to publish their books and chapters open access – making research freely available to anyone with internet access! They offer authors the option to publish open access books and chapters in a wide range of areas within science, technology and medicine (STM) and within the humanities and social sciences (HSS).
IntechOpen - Medicine Open Access Ebooks
They pride themselves on their belief that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.
Open Michigan - Open Health Collections
These Open Health Collections are representative samples of available open health educational resources. It includes many collections of openly licensed resources and tools for health sciences. Resources such as textbooks, courses, audio-videos, journals, images, datasets, software, and other mixed content. All of these resources are free for anyone to access worldwide. Many of them are also shared under open licenses that allow copies and modifications.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
World Health Organization - Ebook Collection
*Most titles are outdated/older than 2006, so use with caution.
National Academies Press - Ebook Collection
Read and download 9979 books for FREE!
Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promoting free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine.

Open Educational Resource (OER) - Textbooks

"Open Educational Resources, or OER, refer to any teaching and learning materials that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license, such as a Creative Commons License or GNU General Public License, that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution with no or limited restrictions".

(Source: The OER Toolkit, Colleges Library Ontario)

Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care
This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practised in the clinical setting. The checklist approach, used in this textbook, aims to provide standardized processes for clinical skills and to help nursing schools and clinical practice partners keep procedural practice current.
Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions
This peer reviewed e-book is a must-read for nurses and other health professionals who strive to teach with creativity and excellence in clinical settings. Each chapter presents current evidence informed educational practice knowledge. Each topic is also presented with text boxes describing ‘Creative Strategies’ that clinical teachers from across Canada have successfully implemented.
Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students
Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students is an open textbook designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. Its intent is to recognize the significant role the literature review plays in the research process and to prepare students for the work that goes into writing one. Developed for new graduate students and novice researchers just entering into the work of a chosen discipline, each of the eight chapters covers a component of the literature review process. Students will learn how to form a research question, search existing literature, synthesize results and write the review.
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know
Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should Know should be an essential component of basic educational preparation for the professional registered nurse student. Recent studies show that only one in four nurses feel confident in caring for dying patients and their families and less than 2% of overall content in nursing textbooks is related to end-of-life care, despite the tremendous growth in palliative and end-of-life care programs across the country. The purpose of this textbook is to provide an indepth look at death and dying in this country, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life.