Open Access Resources: OA Web Resources

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

*Open Access Medical Statistics ceased publishing in May 2018. All articles that have been published in Open Access Medical Statistics will continue to be available on the Dove Press site, and will be securely archived with CLOCKSS.*

Freely available data and statistics provided by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

U.S. government website and data tool.

Information Access for Public Health Workforce. Including COVID-19 data, county/state/metro area-specific data, demographic data, and more...

Global health data on universal health coverage, health emergencies, health and well-being, and more.

The mission of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve this mission, NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness, research that spans and integrates the behavioral and biological sciences, and that develops the scientific basis for clinical practice.

Currently you will find:
- A collection of free medical simulation scenarios contributed from various educators. Feel free to modify or run them as they are designed.
- An audio / visual stimuli database where you will find high quality image, video and audio files to use in your scenarios. Current sections are: ECG / EKGs (images), Ultrasounds (videos), X-Rays (images), Other (images) and Audio clips. There also also links to various A/V solutions, often used in debriefing.
- Moulage information including 'How To' videos and documents.
- Resources has various documents/templates used at simulation labs that you may download.
- Links is a list of links to other online simulation based websites.
- News has anything I come across that looks interesting or fun in the medical simulation field.

Peer-reviewed simulation cases for Emergency Medicine programs available in FOAMed spirit.

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library

Simulations, collections, tutorials, and more resources made freely available, covering a variety of subjects.

MedEdPORTAL is a MEDLINE-indexed, open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), in partnership with the American Dental Education Association. MedEdPORTAL publications are stand-alone, complete teaching or learning modules that have been implemented and evaluated with medical or dental trainees or practitioners. Each submission is reviewed by editorial staff and external peer reviewers using a standardized review instrument grounded in the tenets of educational scholarship.

Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.

The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.

OPENPediatrics is an open access online community of healthcare professionals sharing best practices from all resource settings around the world through innovative collaboration and digital learning technologies. Through OPENPediatrics, healthcare professionals can access peer-reviewed content, including accredited and non-accredited courses, expert lectures and demonstrations, interactive device simulators, protocols and medical calculators. Verified users can also form and join groups, share digital resources, and engage in online discussions of key aspects of pediatric care.

This community houses resource papers, research, educational and evidence-based practice materials from individuals and non-Sigma nursing organizations and nursing-related groups. “Groups” may be from any professional setting where nurses* or nursing students* work or learn, such as schools of nursing, hospitals, other clinical settings, national/international nursing organizations, professional groups/consortia, or health-related businesses.

Free Open Access Nursing Education is a global collaboration utilising technology, social media and has the agility to discuss relevant healthcare topics in real time. The below summary is by theNursePath:
“The #FOANed hashtag also gives individuals the ability to produce, collate and share links to information that might be of interest to other nurses. Finally, #FOANed provides an opportunity for nurses who do have access to journals and articles locked away behind pay-walls to extract a bullet-point summary or take home message from the article (preferably along with a link to the abstract) and then share it with us all.”

The NLM Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body. Specifically, the VHP provides a public-domain library of cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images obtained from one male cadaver and one female cadaver. The Visible Man data set was publicly released in 1994 and the Visible Woman in 1995.

Find open public health courses and materials. Topics include Adolescent Health, Aging, Behavioral Health, General Public Health, Health Policy, HIV/AIDS, Maternal & Child Health, Mental Health, Nutrition, Public Health Preparedness, and many more.