Certified Nursing Assistant Accelerator Program: Mandated Manual Skills

Infobase Videos 

The Infobase Nursing Videos on Demand collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system. 

• Nursing Skills – with titles covering core clinical skills as well as the unique skills needed in emergency and medical-surgical nursing.
• Patient Care and Interventions – covering the best practices of care for a wide range of conditions and scenarios, including geriatric care, home health nursing, abuse and violence, hospice and palliative care, oncology, psychiatric care, gynecology and obstetrics, pain management, and pediatric and neonatal care.
• Nursing Foundations – includes videos on anatomy and physiology, diet and nutrition, pharmacology, and lifespan development.
• Diseases, Disorders, and Disabilities – includes videos on cardiovascular, infectious, and communicable diseases, learning disabilities, and developmental, metabolic and endocrine, respiratory, neurological, and psychiatric disorders.
• Special Topics in Nursing – covering critical situations that nurses encounter in addition to their core responsibilities, including ethical and legal issues, health and safety for health care providers, management and leadership, and medical research and advances.

Mandated Manual Skills

The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) requires CNAs to complete a Manual Skills performance test. Here are the 21 manual skills that are required to master in order to obtain a Nursing Assistant certificate.

 

1. Wash Hands

- Hand Hygiene

 

2.  Perform Oral Hygiene

- Oral Hygiene

 

3. Shave a Resident

-Facial Shaving

 

4.  Perform Nail Care

- Nail and Foot Care

 

5. Perform Perineal Care

 -Perineal Care - Male

- Perineal Care - Female

 

6. Give Partial Bath

- Complete or Partial Bath

 

7. Give Shower or Tub Bath

 - Shower or Tub Bath

 

8. Make an Occupied Bed

- Make an Occupied Bed

 

9. Dress a Resident

- Bathe and Dress a Patient

 

10.  Transfer Resident to Wheelchair Using a Transfer Belt

- Transfer resident to wheelchair using a transfer belt

 

11. Transfer Using Mechanical Lift

- Transfer Technique: Using Mechanical Lifting Device

 

12. Ambulate with Transfer Belt

- Transfer a Patient using a Transfer Belt 

 

13. Feed A Resident

- Feeding Assistance

 

14. Calculate Intake and Output

- Calculate Intake and Output

 

15. Place Resident in a Side-Lying Position

- Assisting With Moving a Patient in Bed

- Assisting With Positioning a Patient in Bed

 

16. Perform Passive Range of Motion

- Range of Motion Exercises

 

17. Apply and Remove Personal Protective Equipment

- Using Personal Protective Equipment and Isolation Precautions

 

18. Measure and Record Temperature, Pulse and Respiration

- Measure & record temperature

- Taking Pulse

- Assessing Respirations

 

19. Measure and Record Blood Pressure

- Measuring and Recording Blood Pressure 1 Step Process

- Measuring and Recording Blood Pressure 2 Step Process

 

20. Measure and Record Weight

21.  Measure and Record Height

-  Measuring Height and Weight

Elsevier Clinical Skills Videos 

Oak Point has access to Elsevier Clinical Skills Videos where nursing students and faculty can watch at anytime to brush up on clinical skills. ECS has TONS of demos that you can view on campus and at home too! Elsevier Clinical Skills can help in the following areas:

• 1,200 evidence-based skills and procedures
• quick sheet summaries
• in-depth descriptions with rationales
• checklists
• supply lists
• competency tests for immediate feedback
• videos
• animated demonstrations
• illustrations

Elsevier Clinical Skills: This database offers educators and staff convenient online access to evidence-based skills and procedures Content has been adapted from authoritative resources with insight from leading nursing societies, and is continuously updated to reflect the latest in evidence-based practice. Use your database login to access this on campus or at home.

Ambulatory Aids

• Ambulation Aids: Education 

• Ambulation Aids: Measuring and Fitting 

Injury Assessment

• Assessment: Pressure Injury and Wound 

Patient Care

• Bathing: Bed Bath 

• Bathing: Tub Bath and Shower 

• Bed Making - Occupied 

• Bed Making- Unoccupied 

• Bedpans 

• Denture Care 

• Hair Care: Combing 

• Hair Care: Facial Shaving 

• Shampooing Hair of Bed-Bound Patient 

• Oral Hygiene 

• Oral Hygiene for Unconscious or Debilitated Patients 

• Nail and Foot Care 

• Perineal Care 

• Feeding Assistance 

• Fall Prevention 

• Hand Hygiene 

Communication and Patient Issues

• Behavioral Issues 

• Behavioral Issues: Adolescent Patients 

• Communication Using Trauma-Informed Care 

• Communication with Angry Patients - Deescalation 

• Communication with Anxious Patient 

• Communication with Depressed Patients 

• Communication with Patient who is Transgender 

• Cultural Consideration in Communication 

• Patients and Inappropriate Behaviors 

• Suicide Assessment and Precautions 

• Nurse-Patient Relationship 

• Hand-off Report 

• Restraint Application and Monitoring 

Blood Monitoring

• Blood Glucose Monitoring 

• Blood Pressure Measurement 

Compression Devices

• Compression Stockings and Sequential Compression Devices 

IV Therapy

• Intravenous Therapy: Prevention and Management of Extravasations 

• Intravenous Therapy: Regulation of Flow Rate

• Intravenous Therapy: Solution Change

Isolation Precautions

• Isolation Precaution-Airborne 

• Isolation Precaution-PPE 

• Isolation Precautions: Ebola Donning and Doffing Personal Protective Equipment 

Measuring Intake and Output

• Measuring Intake and Output 

Pre and Post Operative Care

• Postoperative Care: Immediate Recovery Period 

• Preoperative Care 

Injury Assessment and Care

• Pressure Injury: Risk Assessment and Prevention 

• Pressure Injury: Treatment 

• Range of Motion Exercises 

Pulse Measurement

• Pulse Measurement 

• Pulse Oximetry 

• Respirations 

Specimen Collection

• Specimen Collection: Midstream (Clean-Voided) Urine 

• Specimen Collection: Nose and Throat 

• Specimen Collection: Stool 

• Specimen Collection: Timed Urine Specimen 

End of Life Care

• Symptom Management at End of Life 

• End of Life Discussions 

Transfers

• Transfer Technique: Assisting Patients from Bed to Chair 

• Transfer Technique: Assisting Patients to Sitting Position 

• Transfer Technique: Using Mechanical Lifting Device 

Catheters

• Urinary Catheter Suprapubic Insertion and Replacement: Advanced Practice

Vital Signs

• Vital Signs

Wound Care

• Wound Care- Amputation 

• Wound Care- Minor Burns

• Wound Cleansing

• Infection Management